Today’s Thoughts…

May 24, 2014// Biopsy has been delayed for a short while, just discharged from hospital for a kidney infection gone bad.  Because of my nephrostomy situation, I don’t necessarily have any symptoms of infection until I am very sick.  This time around I finally went to the ER for vomiting.  Turns out I had a major kidney infection that had gone into my blood stream, sepsis.  To complicate matters, I am allergic to most antibiotics, they only things I can tolerate that are strong enough to treat the kidney are not available in oral/pill form.  That means a week or more inpatient, hooked up to an IV to receive the needed medication.  No fun.

Trying to use my time wisely, I tried to get the biopsy set up and done while I was there.  The team that would do the requested ultrasound guided biopsy came back and said the area in question was too deep, they would not be able to biopsy.  Their suggestion instead is a series of CT scans with various contrasts, to try to get the best images possible to correctly identify the lesion.  And they would not do that at the time because my kidney has to be in proper working order to evacuate the contrasts they want to pump into me…  round and round in a circle.  Guess I will contact my oncologist again this coming week to see when they will schedule the CTs.

I’d really like to just ignore the whole thing and pretend like it’s not there, but I know where that leads.  Better to find out now, if it’s possible to really find out, and get it taken care of.  I’m really not wanting more chemo.  Trying to look on the bright side though.   At least it hasn’t reappeared in my lung or some unrelated spot like that.  That would be a whole other ball of wax.  And, this little 2 centimeter-ish spot is NOTHING compared to the massive cancer I’ve already fought off, so this should be cake, right?

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

